Literacy Network
701 Dane St.
Madison, WI 53713
Phone 608-244-3911
Email jeff@litnetwork.org
Fri, Nov 17, 2017
About Us : Who We Are

Our Staff

Literacy Network is made up of full-time and part-time employees, contract teachers, interns, and more than 500 volunteer tutors over the course of a year. All classroom instructors have advanced degrees and/or are certified teachers. Volunteer tutors come from a variety of professional backgrounds and attend Literacy Network's Tutor Training before being matched with adult students. Staff members listed below keep regular hours at the Literacy Network office (701 Dane Street) in order to offer support to other employees, volunteers, advocates, and visitors. Click here for a list of our Board of Directors



Ezi Adesi

Ezi Adesi
Director of Adult Basic Education
Ezi is responsible for Adult Basic Education (ABE) programming. He trains tutors, develops computer literacy and basic literacy curriculum, instructs group computer classes, and intakes and supports all of Literacy Network's Adult Basic Education learners.
Email: ezi@litnetwork.org
Phone: (608) 244-3911 ext 10



Jeff Burkhart

Jeff Burkhart
Executive Director
Jeff is responsible for overall direction of the agency.
Email: jeff@litnetwork.org
Phone: (608) 244-3911 ext. 15



Jen Davie

Jen Davie
Development Director
Jen is responsible for oversight of development and marketing for the organization. This includes donor relations, media relations, marketing, special events and board engagement in development.
Email: jdavie@litnetwork.org
Phone: (608) 244-3911 ext. 20



Sara Finesilver
Family Literacy Program Manager
Sara manages and teaches in our Family Literacy programming, which aims to engage English-language-learning parents in their children's education.
Email: sara@litnetwork.org
Phone: (608) 244-3911 ext. 35



Autumn Jackson

Autumn Jackson
Senior Director of ESL Classes
Autumn oversees programs and staff in all of our ESL group instruction programming, including Workplace English partnerships.
Email: autumn@litnetwork.org
Phone: (608) 244-3911 ext. 25



Marie Knibbe

Marie Knibbe
GED Program Manager
Marie manages Literacy Network's GED programming, including student intake and tutor training and supervision. She provides student support from registration to program completion.
Email: mariek@litnetwork.org
Phone: (608) 244-3911 ext. 20



Caitlin Mackesey

Caitlin Mackesey
Student Services Director
Caitlin oversees student registration and Student Services staff. She also provides support for Academic Tutors and all Citizenship programming.
Email: caitlin@litnetwork.org
Phone: (608) 244-3911 ext. 30



Alejandra Muņoz Contreras

Alejandra Muņoz Contreras
Student Services & Office Coordinator
Alejandra welcomes visitors to Literacy Network, answers phones, and offers academic support and advising to Literacy Network students. She also helps keep the building running smoothly.
Email: alejandra@litnetwork.org
Phone: (608) 244-3911 ext. 80



Teresa Pape-Asumu

Teresa Pape-Asumu
Student Services & Office Coordinator
Teresa welcomes visitors to Literacy Network, answers phones, and offers academic support and advising to Literacy Network students. She also helps keep the building running smoothly.
Email: teresa@litnetwork.org
Phone: (608) 244-3911 ext 80



Jennifer Peterson

Jennifer Peterson
Senior Director of Tutoring
Jennifer oversees Literacy Network's Student Services department, ESL, GED, and ABE tutoring programs and staff.
Email: jennifer@litnetwork.org
Phone: (608) 244-3911 ext. 40



Cassie Pilarski

Cassie Pilarski
Workplace ESL Instructor
Cassie teaches in our Workplace Literacy program, in which we offer customized programming for employees of our workplace partners. She also provides coordination support for select partnerships.
Email: cassie@litnetwork.org
Phone: (608) 244-3911 ext. 85



Molly Schneider

Molly Schneider
Community Literacy Manager
Molly directly manages the Community Literacy ESL Tutoring program. She trains and supports interns and tutors, and enrolls students.
Email: molly@litnetwork.org
Phone: (608) 244-3911 ext 45



Ilana Seidman

Ilana Seidman
Workplace ESL Instructor
Ilana teaches in our Workplace Literacy program, in which we offer customized programming for employees of our workplace partners. She also provides coordination support for select partnerships.
Email: ilana@litnetwork.org
Phone: (608) 244-3911



Marie Simpson

Marie Simpson
ESL Instructor & AEFL Coordinator
Marie teaches many of our group ESL classes. She also teaches and coordinates with volunteers and partners for the English for Health program.
Email: MarieS@litnetwork.org
Phone: (608) 244-3911 ext. 50



Shawn Steen

Shawn Steen
Director of Volunteer Services
Shawn is responsible for agency-wide volunteer recruitment, screening, and placement. She also gives outreach presentations to groups, schools and businesses about the impact of adult literacy on our communities' economy, health, and children, and presents community trainings on Volunteer Program Management. Shawn also oversees data collection and reporting.
Email: shawn@litnetwork.org
Phone: (608) 244-3911 ext.55



Elliott Valentine

Elliott Valentine
Development and Marketing Specialist
Elliott supports the development and marketing efforts of the organization including newsletters, media relations and donor engagement.
Email: elliott@litnetwork.org
Phone: (608) 244-3911



Gregg Williard

Gregg Williard
ESL Instructor & Refugee Services Coordinator
Gregg teaches many of our public ESL classes. He also manages programming for refugees, serving as the first contact, ESL instructor, and continued support for refugee referrals as they work toward continued education and increased employability.
Email: gregg@litnetwork.org
Phone: (608) 244-3911 ext.60